The Apron Project

 

1916113_165043153198_7013883_nA while back,  I posted a photo on Facebook that brought more attention to the apron I was wearing than to the dish I was showing off.  My first college roommate, seeing it, asked me to make her a similar apron, also of marimekko fabric.  She would send me something in exchange.  I was the recipient of a beautiful monotype.  But also, I returned to sewing and discovered how much I enjoyed it.

So I decided to make an apron  for each of my female cooking friends.

Just this last week, I sent one off to an unsuspecting friend who used to throw great parties of food and music at her beach house, donning a pink baseball cap.  So, I chose this fabric for her:  from_gee_kerners_post

My pleasure in making the apron was surpassed by the pleasure I gleaned from surprising her and seeing her posting on Facebook about the unanticipated gift that arrived and how special it made her feel.

Leave a comment